EIFL Public Library Innovation Award 12: Rules and guidelines for submission

English | Español | Français | Русский

1. Application may be submitted either in writing, or in video (film) format. For further details see points 4 and 5, below.

2. Applications may be submitted in English, Russian, French and Spanish (these are the main international languages that EIFL-PLIP staff and experts can read and understand, and we have chosen these languages for administrative purposes). If you submit your application using video format, you may use mother-tongue, but the video must have clear subtitles in English. 

3. Past and present EIFL-PLIP grantee libraries may not apply for an Innovation Award for the EIFL-PLIP-funded service. However, they may submit an application for a service not funded by EIFL-PLIP and that qualifies for this award category. Past EIFL Public Library Innovation Award winners may not apply for a service that has received an EIFL innovation award in the past, but may submit an application for a different service.

4. If you decide to submit your application in writing, make sure that:

  • You fill in the Application form in full.
  • Your application is supported by 2-3 photos. 

5. If you decide to submit your application in video format, make sure that:

  • The video incorporates all the information required by the Application form (doc), including (1) Information about your library (2) Background to the service and the community need (3) Description of the service (4) Results / Community impact. You must study the Application form (doc) carefully for explanations of the information required.
  • The video is less than five minutes in length.
  • The video has clear English subtitles.
  • The video is uploaded to YouTube.

6. We will only accept applications (written or video) that are submitted through the EIFL-PLIP online submission system.

An e-mail help desk will be available during the period the Innovation Award call is open. Please feel free to contact us at plip@eifl.net. The language of communication is English.

7. The deadline for applications is 5 December 2018.

Selection and eligibility criteria

  • Winners will be selected by a panel of international experts.
  • In selecting winners, the panel of experts will focus on the results (impact) of the service. They will want to see evidence of positive impact of the service in the community, including statistics, service user data, information from surveys and interviews to show how the service contributes to overcoming the development challenge addressed and how people’s lives have improved.
  • Only applications submitted by public and community libraries from developing and transition countries are eligible and will be evaluated.
  • Only services that use information and communication technology (ICT) are eligible.
  • The service submitted must clearly fit the award category.
  • The service should have started after January 2016.
  • The service must be operational at the time of application, and you must be able to provide evidence about results of the service, and its impact in the community.
  • Only one service can be presented in the application. Other services or projects presented in the application will not be considered.
  • Services which are currently funded by EIFL-PLIP, or which have received EIFL-PLIP funding in the past, are NOT eligible for innovation awards. However, libraries that have received funding from EIFL-PLIP may submit an application for any service or services not funded by EIFL-PLIP.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What countries are eligible to apply? 

The call is open to applicants from transition and developing countries. See the complete list. 

What kind of libraries may apply? 

Public and community libraries may apply.

  • A public library is a library that is open to the general public, and which makes all kinds of knowledge and information available. The main source of funding is local/regional/national government. 
  • A community library is a library which is primarily supported by community contributions, and which makes all kinds of knowledge and information available to the community. 

Are services funded by EIFL-PLIP eligible?

No, they are not. Past and present EIFL-PLIP grantee libraries may not apply for an Innovation Award for the EIFL-PLIP-funded service, even if the grant contract period is over.

However, libraries that have received funding from EIFL-PLIP may submit an application for any service or services not funded by EIFL-PLIP that are qualified for the award category.

What is ICT?

ICT – information and communication technology – refers to all kinds of digital technology (hardware and software) used for communication and / or to collect, store and disseminate information. Examples include personal computers, laptops and netbook computers, tablet computers like iPads, cell phones and smart phones, web portals, multimedia applications including audio, film, video and games, VOIP communication systems like Skype, social networking tools like Facebook and twitter; email, and digital media like radio and TV. 

What do we mean by creative use of ICT?

By creative use of ICT, we mean new, unusual, non-traditional, imaginative ideas for using ICT, or combinations of ICT, in ways that serve needs in your community.

We will not consider innovative library services that (1) only offer free public access to computers and the internet; 2) only offer ICT skills training; 3) only provide access to digital libraries or other resources.

Return to main page